State School Boards Association members elect new president, board officers for 2018

FOR RELEASE: December 20, 2017 - UPDATE

CONTACT: Al Marlin
(518) 783-3723 or (518) 527-6933 cell


Members of the New York State School Boards (NYSSBA) elected a new president and a slate of board officers to lead the Association effective Jan. 1, 2018.

William Miller of Herkimer-Fulton-Hamilton-Otsego BOCES was elected president of the Association’s board of directors and Fred Langstaff of Eastern Suffolk BOCES was elected 1st vice president. Peggy Zugibe of North Rockland was elected 2nd vice president and Thomas Nespeca of Monroe 1 BOCES was elected treasurer. All were elected to one-year terms.

William currently serves as 1st vice president and Area 5 director on the NYSSBA Board of Directors. As Area 5 Director, he represents school districts in Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego, Oneida, Herkimer and Madison counties.  Miller has served on the Herkimer-Fulton-Hamilton-Otsego BOCES Board of Education since 2002. Prior to that, he was on the Mount Markham school board from 1993 to 2005, serving as president for six years.

Fred presently serves as 2nd vice president and Area 12 director, representing school boards in Suffolk County. Langstaff has been a member of Eastern Suffolk BOCES Board since 1998 and has served as the board’s clerk since 2003. Previously, he served nine years on the Sayville School Board, where he was president for one year and vice president for two years.

Peggy currently serves as NYSSBA’s Area 10 director.  She represents school boards in Putnam, Westchester and Rockland counties. She has been a member of the North Rockland (Haverstraw-Stony Point) school board since 1993, and has served as both board president and vice president.  Peggy is also the current president of the Rockland BOCES Board and was also president of the Rockland County School Boards Association for two years.

Tom was re-elected to a fifth-term as treasurer of NYSSBA. He previously served as NYSSBA’s president, vice president and Area 2 Director, where he represented school boards in Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Seneca, Wayne and Yates counties. Nespeca is a member of the Monroe 1 BOCES Board and served on the Webster Board of Education for 17 years. He is a member of the Monroe County School Boards Association.

The election took place at the Association’s annual business meeting in Lake Placid in October.

To download a photo of Miller, Langstaff, Zugibe and Nespeca, go to:



Back to top