Engelbrecht named 2017 Everett R. Dyer Award recipient

FOR RELEASE: August 9, 2017  (Updated on 8/10/17)

CONTACT: Al Marlin
(518) 783-3723 or (518) 527-6933 cell


Richard Engelbrecht of the Madison-Oneida BOCES Board of Education has been named the 2017 Everett. R. Dyer Award winner by the New York State School Boards Association (NYSSBA).

The Dyer Award is given annually for distinguished school board service to a current or former school board member, who, in the judgment of the NYSSBA Awards Committee, should be recognized for outstanding contributions to public education and children in his or her own school district.

The award honors Engelbrecht's nearly 50 years of combined service on the Madison-Oneida BOCES Board where he serves as president as well as his time on a local school board.

"Rich has an amazing passion for the BOCES organization, our school districts and the children of our region. He is more than deserving of this prestigious honor," said Jacklin G. Starks, district superintendent at Madison-Oneida BOCES.

Engelbrecht, a retired dairy farmer, is a native of Madison and has dedicated his life to serving the students in the area. He joined the Madison-Oneida BOCES Board in 1972.

During his almost five decades of service, Engelbrecht has helped pave the way for enhanced programming and new facilities that have helped BOCES and local schools better serve the educational needs of a diverse population of learners.

In addition to being active in his community, Engelbrecht has served as a voting delegate at the NYSSBA Annual Convention and participated in the National School Boards Association annual convention. He continues to be active in the Oneida-Madison-Herkimer School Boards Institute (Tri-County SBI).

A photo of Engelbrecht: http://www.nyssba.org/clientuploads/nyssba_graphics/dyer-award-engelbrecht.jpg



Back to top