New York State School Boards Association

Organization Structure

NYSSBA Officers and Board of Directors

The delegates to the Annual Business Meeting elect the officers of the Association, which include the president, two vice presidents and the treasurer.

The Board of Directors consists of the Association’s president, two vice presidents, the treasurer and the immediate past president; one director from each of the Association’s 13 geographic areas; and a representative of the Conference of Big 5 School Districts. Before their election at the Annual Business Meeting, the officers are nominated by the Board of Directors.

The Directors are nominated by the member school boards of their designated geographic area and elected by ballot.

The duties of the Board of Directors include promoting the interest of education throughout the state, deciding general policies of the Association, appointing the executive director and adopting the Association’s annual budget.

Area Organization
For NYSSBA’s organizational and administrative purposes, New York State is divided into 13 areas, each represented by an area director elected by the member boards within that area, as follows:

Area 1 - Linda Hoffman, Director
Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans and Wyoming counties

Area 2 -Rodney George, Director
Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Seneca, excluding the South Seneca school district,Wayne and Yates counties, and including the Letchworth, Perry, and Warsaw school districts of Wyoming County, the Wayland-Cohocton school district of Steuben County, and the Holley and Kendall school districts of Orleans County.

Area 3 - Christine Schnars, Director
Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua and Steuben counties, excluding the Wayland-Cohocton school district of Steuben County.

Area 4 - Douglas Ann Land, Director
Broome, Cayuga, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Onondaga, Schuyler, Tioga, Tompkins counties, the Cazenovia school district and the DeRuyter school district of Madison County and the South Seneca school district of Seneca County.

Area 5 - William L. Miller, Director
Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, excluding Harrisville school district, Madison, excluding the Cazenovia and the DeRuyter school districts, Oneida, and Oswego counties, including the Richfield Springs school district of Otsego County and the Oppenheim-Ephratah school district of Fulton County.

Area 6 - Esther Sherman Arlan, Director
Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, excluding the Wells and Lake Pleasant school districts, and St. Lawrence counties, and including the Harrisville school district of Lewis County, and the Putnam school district of Washington County.

Area 7 - Lynne Lenhardt, 1st Vice President and Director
Albany, Columbia, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren and Washington counties, excluding the Putnam school district of Washington County.

Area 8 - Brian LaTourette, Director
Delaware, Fulton, excluding the Oppenheim-Ephratah school district, Montgomery, Otsego, excluding the Richfield Springs school district, and Schoharie County, including the Wells and Lake Pleasant school districts of Hamilton County.

Area 9 - Dorothy Slattery, Director
Dutchess, Greene, Orange, Sullivan and Ulster counties

Area 10 - Peggy Zugibe, Director
Putnam, Rockland and Westchester counties.

Area 11 - Susan Bergtraum, 2nd Vice President and Director
Nassau County.

Area 12 - Fred Langstaff, Director
Suffolk County.

Area 13
Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens and Richmond counties.

Conference of Big Five - Willa Powell

National School Boards Association Representative - Anne M. Byrne

The Association’s Committee System
The Board of Directors seeks information and advice from member school boards through its committee system as follows:

  • Executive Committee of the Board of Directors is charged with providing the executive director and the officers with the means necessary to carry out the Association’s administrative functions.
  • Resolutions Committee reviews proposed resolutions submitted by member school boards, and reports to the delegates at the Annual Business Meeting held during the Annual Convention.
  • Committee on Board Operations reviews the operations of the Association to ensure that they are consistent with the vision, mission and goals adopted by the Board of Directors.
  • Policy and Bylaws Committee develops, evaluates and recommends the adoption, deletion or modification of policies and changes to bylaws to the board on an ongoing basis.
  • Cultural Diversity Committee examines cultural issues that may affect student achievement.
  • Distinguished Service Award Committee selects a present or former school board member to receive the Everett R. Dyer Award for Distinguished School Board Service at the Annual Convention.
  • Investment Advisory Committee monitors and evaluates the performance of NYSSBA’s investment portfolio and investment managers.

In addition, the board may appoint ad hoc committees to look to specific matters on behalf of the membership, such as the Ad Hoc Advisory Committee or Task Forces on BOCES.

YouTube FaceBook Twitter

Copyright © 2018 New York State School Boards Association - All Rights Reserved