School Budget Voting Final Results 2009

A total of 17 school district budgets were defeated after the first vote. Of those, 9 districts chose to adopt a contingency budget after the first vote. Six districts chose to send a revised budget back for voter approval – five passed and one failed. Two districts sent the same budget back for a revote – both failed. One district’s initial vote was invalidated because of a ballot error and they were forced to hold a second vote, which passed (marked below with **).

Here is a breakdown of the results:

Adopted Contingency Budget After First Vote
(School District, County)
Whitney Point, Broome County
St. Regis Falls, Franklin County
Mohawk, Herkimer County
Worcester, Otsego County
Mahopac, Putnam County
Troy, Rensselaer County
Edinburg, Saratoga County
Patchogue-Medford, Suffolk County
Shoreham-Wading River, Suffolk County
Total Contingency  = 9

Budget Defeated After Revote
Van Hornesville (Owen D. Young), Herkimer County
Amsterdam, Montgomery County
Romulus, Seneca County
Total Defeated = 3

Budget Passed After Revote
Broadalbin-Perth, Fulton County
Madison, Madison County
Rush-Henrietta, Monroe County**
Oriskany, Oneida County
Clarkstown, Rockland County
Schenectady, Schenectady County
Total Passed = 6

Back to top