School Budget Voting Final Results 2011

A total of 45 school district budgets were defeated after the first vote. Of those, 22 districts chose to adopt a contingency budget after the first vote. Twenty-three districts chose to send a revised budget back for voter approval 14 passed and 9 were defeated. Two districts sent the same budget back for a revote both were defeated.

Here is a breakdown:

Adopted Contingency Budget After First Vote
(School District, County)
Hudson, Columbia County
Kinderhook, Columbia County
Cortland, Cortland County
Iroquois, Erie County
Broadalbin-Perth, Fulton County
Northville, Fulton County
Dansville, Livingston County
Amsterdam, Montgomery County
North Tonawanda, Niagara County
Sherrill, Oneida County
North Syracuse, Onondaga County
Chester, Orange County
Worcester, Otsego County
Averill Park, Rensselaer County
Rensselaer, Rensselaer County
East Ramapo, Rockland County
North Rockland, Rockland County
Edwards-Knox, St. Lawrence County
Massena, St. Lawrence County
Fishers Island, Suffolk County
Eldred, Sullivan County
Mt. Vernon, Westchester County
Total Contingency  = 22

Budget Defeated After Revote
Berne-Knox-Westerlo, Albany County*
Pine Plains, Dutchess County
Lackawanna, Erie County
Seaford, Nassau County
Westbury, Nassau County
Brasher Falls, St. Lawrence County
Saugerties, Ulster County
Lake George, Warren County
Greenburgh, Westchester County*
Total Defeated = 9

Budget Passed After Revote
Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk, Albany County
Genesee Valley, Allegany County
Weedsport, Cayuga County
Schroon Lake, Essex County
Ticonderoga, Essex County
Batavia, Genesee County
Locust Valley, Nassau County
Oyster Bay-East Norwich, Nassau County
Jordan-Elbridge, Onondaga County
Minisink Valley, Orange County
Medina, Orleans County
Mahopac, Putnam County
Owego-Appalachin, Tioga County
Cambridge, Washington County
Total Passed = 14

(*) Indicates districts who sent the same budget back to voters

Back to top